#325: ‘Hawaiian Robots’ – Something For Kate

The first time I ever heard a Something For Kate B-side was likely when I heard ‘Hawaiian Robots’ on a compilation that dealt with this very topic. The flipside of their huge 2001 single ‘Monsters‘, ‘Hawaiian Robots’ was an odd choice for a non-album track, though it soon grew on me.

While ‘Monsters’ had something of an introspective emotional lean, ‘Hawaiian Robots’ was almost peppy, with its bright and jangly sound appearing almost reminiscent of the New Zealand indie scene of the ’80s and ’90s. While I enjoyed it, I couldn’t look past how different it was to the rest of the single.

By 2013 however, I’d managed to witness Something For Kate on their 20th anniversary tour, which saw them playing two sets, one of greatest hits, and one of requests and rarities. This second half was indeed a familiar one for most, and for me, it brought back memories to be hearing ‘Hawaiian Robots’ once again.

Seeing it live though, the track was put into a whole other perspective. The studio version lacked the raw energy that frontman Paul Dempsey puts into the track, turning it into something of a fierce alt-rock number instead of its jangling existence.

When it comes to a band whose B-sides are often better than many singles, it’s so easy for them to go under the radar. Thankfully, I had one trusty compilation to set me straight and tell me which of the band’s alternate tunes I should be listening to.

Leave a comment