#891: ‘Ooh La’ – The Kooks

During my high school years, I managed to see many of my cooler acquaintances get caught up with many of the fashionable indie bands of the day. At this stage, I was still focused on rock bands, so I gave them a miss. This of course meant I had Miles of catching up to do down the line.

I think it was in my final year of high school that I finally heard The Kooks. One younger friend of mine would talk of bands such as them, and I became intrigued enough to check them out. After noting that their debut record Inside/Out contained a total of six singles, I figured there might be something to them.

I checked out ‘Ooh La’ and was far more surprised than I feel I should’ve been. The group’s songwriting was casual, yet genuine and relatable, giving them a real ‘boys next door’ feel that made them easy to like. Sure, The Kooks found much of their fame thanks to tracks such as ‘Naïve‘ and ‘She Moves In Her Own Way‘, tracks such as ‘Ooh La’, while not exactly overlooked, never gained the mainstream attention that they deserve.

The track seems to touch on the perils of success and fame, and like other songs that the group have recorded, is delivered in such a way that it’s easy to get caught up in the carefree melody of the song and managing to ignore the darker meaning underneath.

While The Kooks never became a favourite band of mine, their music has managed to find its way into my playlists over the years, and they’ve served as a good band to use as background music. That being said though, my attitude towards them should probably change at some point, after all, they’ve got some killer songs that I tend to overlook a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

