#921: ‘Hey Boy Hey Girl’ – The Chemical Brothers

I believe it was the early 2000s when I first heard of The Chemical Brothers. Based on the name alone, I had no idea what to expect, but I assumed it was probably going to be something intriguing. I don’t know what it was, but the word ‘chemical’ seemed to intrigue me at the time. Of course, years later My Chemical Romance would hit the scene, and I didn’t react the same way, but for some reason The Chemical Brothers intrigued me based on name alone.

Soon after, I first heard ‘Hey Boy Hey Girl’, and it completely struck me as one of the coolest tracks I’d heard in ages. Heavily sampling the track ‘The Roof Is On Fire‘ by Rock Master Scott & The Dynamic Three, the track was just mesmerising. From the way that the phrase “Hey girls, B-boys, superstar DJs, here we go” was masterfully woven into The Chemical Brothers seemingly-literate style of dance music, to the vibe and energy of the track, I was enthralled.

The track is meaningless lyrically, but it’s status as an amazing dance track, and one of my favourite ‘hype-up’ songs of all time has lead to it being one of my all-time favourites. I owe a lot to this song, in terms of how it opened up my mind to dance music, and how my love of The Chemical Brothers would only evolve after first hearing this, but overall, this track has always been one I found myself going back to. After all, not only does “Superstar DJs, here we go” rank as one of my favourite samples in all of dance music, but it’s fun as hell to dance to.

Leave a Reply

