#940: ‘Volcano’ – Damien Rice

I’ve mentioned before how in 2009 or thereabouts, I began to venture into some much more downtempo tunes, initially as a means for helping me sleep, but as time grew, I started to enjoy the ‘chilled out’ sounds a lot of tracks contained. It was during this time that I discovered Damien Rice, merely by accident.

While looking for some songs to add to my relaxation collection, I was told that Damien Rice would be a good choice, specifically tracks like ‘The Blower’s Daughter’, and ‘Cannonball’. Thinking that he would probably be a decent choice, I went and bought his first two albums, sight unseen. I devoured these two albums over a few nights and began to just adore the music that Rice made. It was also around this time that I became pen pals with a girl from Finland, who was also quite a large Damien Rice fan. As our friendship blossomed, so did our love for Damien Rice.

I would spent hours in the evenings just listening to Rice’s work, and talking with this friend of mine. While the track we bonded over the most was ‘9 Crimes’, it was usually during my second spin of the record O that I would start to get tired, and decide to go to bed. For weeks and weeks, I would listen to ‘Volcano’ as I was falling asleep, feeling completely peaceful as the soothing sounds of Rice’s gorgeous voice rang out. Luckily, the somber nature of the track’s lyrics never gave me a fitful or restless sleep, so I’ll chalk that up as a win.

Leave a Reply

