#968: ‘Love Is Gonna Save Us’ – Benny Benassi Presents The Biz

I’m not going to lie, I’m not really a huge fan of Benny Benassi. It’s nothing personal, it’s just that his style of music has never been my scene. While I appreciate it for what it is, I’ve never been a huge fan. There’s also the fact that I, like many of my countrymen before me, have held a rather unfavourable view of Benassi for his song ‘Satisfaction‘ featuring in that infamous TV ad from years ago.

A few years back though, I found ‘Love Is Gonna Save Us’ on a compilation CD of a radio station’s most requested songs. While the rest of the song’s were pretty well-known in alternative circles, this track was a bit of a stand-out to me. Even before listening, I took note due to who it was. “Oh, he had more than that one track, did he?” was basically the thought process I went through. I then figured if it was truly a commonly requested song, it couldn’t be that bad, right?

Well, I gave the track a shot, and yeah, it was better than expected. While electronic music has never been my scene, don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate it, and there are plenty of fantastic artists in the genre. ‘Love Is Gonna Save Us’ though, it showed me that there are plenty of gems out there in the world of music that could go overlooked by a prejudiced listener like myself.

Musically, the track is relatively straightforward; a radio-friendly electro-pop tune, but this has earned its place on my list of 1000 mainly as a testament and as a reminder to never judge a book by its cover, or in my case, a track by its artist.

Leave a Reply

